वृत्तयः पञ्चतय्यः क्लिष्टाक्लिष्टाः ॥५॥
vṛttayaḥ pañcatayyaḥ kliṣṭākliṣṭāḥ ||5||

[RS] 1.5 There are five types of misconceptions (vrittis), some of which are more agreeable than others:

[JW] 1.5 The fluctuations are of five kinds and are hindered or unhindered.

[SS] 1.5 There are five kinds of mental modifications which are either painful or painless. [p9]

[TD] 1.5 There are five activities of the mind. Each of them can be beneficial and each can cause problems . [p150]

[EB] 1.5 There are five kinds of changing states of the mind, and they are either detrimental or nondetrimental [to the practice of yoga]. [p27]

<Page 1.4    Page 1.6>

(वृत्तयः, vṛttayaḥ) = waves
(पञ्चतय्यः, pañcatayyaḥ) = five-fold
(क्लिष्ट, kliṣṭa) = burdensome
(अक्लिष्टः, akliṣṭaḥ) = carefree