अहिंसासत्यास्तेय ब्रह्मचर्यापरिग्रहाः यमाः ॥३०॥
ahiṁsā-satya-asteya brahmacarya-aparigrahāḥ yamāḥ ||30||

[RS] 2.30 Respect for others (yama) is based on non-violence (ahimsa); truthfulness (satya); not stealing (asteya); non-covetousness (aparigraha); and acting with an awareness of higher ideals (brahma-charya).

[JW] 2.30 Abstinence from injury and from falsehood and from theft and from incontinence and from acceptance of gifts are the abstentions.

[SS] 2.30 Yama consists of non-violence, truthfulness, non-stealing, continence, and non-greed. [p125]

[EB] 2.30 The yamas are nonviolence, truthfulness, refrainment from stealing, celibacy, and renunciation of [unnecessary] possessions. [p243]

<Page 2.29    Page 2.31>

(अहिंसा, ahiṁsā) = non-violence; not doing harm
(सत्य, satya) = truthfulness; speaking the truth; not lying
(अस्तेय, asteya) = to not steal
(ब्रह्म, brahma) = God; a higher ideal
(चर्य, carya) = change to
(ब्रह्मचर्य, brahmacarya) = a change that results in a consicousness of a higher ideal; acting with an awareness of God; being a monk; celibacy; abstinence
(अपरिग्रहाः, aparigrahāḥ) = non-covetousness; to not hoard; modesty
(यमाः, yamāḥ) = code of conduct vis-à-vis others