शौच संतोष तपः स्वाध्यायेश्वरप्रणिधानानि नियमाः ॥३२॥
śauca saṁtoṣa tapaḥ svādhyāy-eśvarapraṇidhānāni niyamāḥ ||32||

[RS] 2.32 Cleanliness (shaucha), contentment (santosha), self-discipline (tapas), learning from yourself (svadhyaya) and accepting your fate (iishvara-pranidhana) automatically translate into the practice of respect (niyama).

[JW] 2.32 Cleanliness and contentment and self-castigation and study and devotion to the Icvara are the observances.

[SS] 2.32 Niyama consists of purity, contentment, accepting but not causing pain, study of spiritual books and workship of God [self-surrender]. [p127]

[EB] 2.32 The observances are cleanliness, contentment, austerity, study [of scripture], and devotion to God. [p252]

<Page 2.31    Page 2.33>

(शौच, śauca) = inner and outer purity and cleanliness
(संतोष, saṁtoṣa) = contentment
(तपः, tapaḥ) = austerity; self-discipline
(स्वाध्याय, svādhyāya) = self-knowledge; learning from yourself; listening to yourself; paying heed to yourself
(ईश्वर, īśvara) = the personal God
(प्रणिधानानि, praṇidhānāni) = devotion; trust
(ईश्वरप्रणिधानानि, īśvara-praṇidhānāni) = devotion to God; accepting one’s fate
(नियमाः, niyamāḥ) = rules of conduct vis-à-vis others